The Mercer Library, Northern Waters Library Service, and the State of Wisconsin all offer many great resources for anyone doing research. If you are preparing for a class assignment, need references for a business presentation, investigating a topic of interest, or just want to explore the world of information the library has to offer, this is the guide for you.


Online References

In the 21st century, we expect information instantly available, 24/7. The problem is that websites can contain out of date or just plain erroneous, unedited information. eReference combines the best of both worlds: the instant access of the internet, with the vetting of traditional publishers and editors. 

Badgerlink Resources

www.badgerlink.net

Badgerlink is a service of the State of Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction's Division for Libraries, Technology, and Community Learning. It is freely available to all residents of Wisconsin, and contains a wealth of information and resources. 

If Badgerlink does not recognize your home ISP, you may need to log in with your library card number for full access. Click on the "Library Card Access" link in the right-hand column, select your library and enter the 14-digit barcode number from the back of your library card.

Visit Badgerlink.net for links to these and other online resources:

 

 EBSCO

36 databases of magazines, journals, newspapers, with many of them available for instant full-text access.

Reference Centers

Auto Reference Center - Online auto-repair reference center with information on select vehicles from 1945 to 2009.

History Reference Center

Consumer Health Complete

Literary Reference Center 

Business Source Premier

 

Access Newspaper Archive

Searchable newspaper archives dating as far back as the 1700s, available in PDf format to preserve the context of the original newspaper publications.
 

NoveList and
NoveList K-8

Top-quality readers' advisory service, featuring author read-alikes, book discussion guides, award winning books, and resources for teaching with books. NoveList K-8 focuses on book recommendations for kids and teens.
 

 Teaching Books

A great resource for teachers and parents, containing reading lists, author interviews, multimedia sources, and other tools to connect children with books.
 

 LitFinder

A searchable database of literary works including poetry, short stories, speeches, and plays. Contains hundreds of thousands of citations and full-text references.
 

Student Research

Badgerlink also offers plenty of resources for students, including:

Student Research Center - combining searches in books, magazines, newspapers, radio and TV news transcripts, biographies, state and province reports, and much more.

Science Reference Center - Allowing students to browse science resources by category, search databases of science sources, and access a reference shelf of dictionaries, reference guides, science experiments, and more.

Encyclopaedia Britannica Online - With elementary, middle and high school editions, Spanish language editions, and Britannica's Learning Zone.

Searchasaurus - A kid-friendly search engine.

AskAway

 This virtual reference service will allow you to chat with a librarian and get an expert's assistance with your research.

 



In-Library References

The library contains print materials on a wide variety of general reference.

General Reference

WorldBook 2010 - A classic 27-volume encyclopedia, available for in-library use only.

Inter-Library Loan

Materials are available directly through the Northern Waters Library Service's Merlin Catalog. Log in with your library card to request and reserve items.

Items not owned in our local system can be requested via inter-library loan by contacting the librarian. WisCat is the catalog of items in public and academic libraries across the state, with additional links to the international OCLC catalog.

 


Search our Catalog

Upcoming Events



Merlin Online Library Catalog logo
Merlin Online Catalog


Flipster Digital Magazines

Digital Books & Audiobooks

Badgerlink - Online auto reference, encyclopedias, magazine and journal reference,
Encyclopedias & Reference

Ancestry Library Edition 
 Ancestry Library Edition

Learning Express Library
Learning Express Library

Wiscat - Catalog of public and academic libraries in the state of Wisconsin
Statewide Library Catalog

WorldCat - online catalog for public and academic libraries world-wide
WorldCat worldwide library catalog


 

Library Hours

 Summer Library Hours

(Memorial Day - Labor Day)
Monday - Thursday 9-7
Friday 9-5
Saturday 9-12

Winter Library Hours
Mon, Wed, Fri 9-5
Tues, Thurs 9-6
Saturday 9-12